How confusing?

zas
5 Signs of A Strong Friendship – ...
5 Signs of A Strong Friendship – Spotting A True Friend

guys, I'm new to this so thought I'd give it a shot.

Basically I met a guy on a dating site and went for a drink with him after speaking for a while. Everything was going swimmingly, he texted me everyday without fail, and he came down to see me (lives about 30 miles away) etc etc.

Now just recently, his grandad has been taken ill and is basically dying. He did get a bit funny the other week and we'd made plans for him to come down again, but when I txt to confirm he basically said he didn't feel like it. He said he definitely wasn't blowing me off, was happy to have met me and wanted to definitely keep seeing me "if that was ok". The next day I spoke to him online and he asked me to come to see him so I went. I was introduced to his parents AND friends in the same night. Good sign you might think?

Well I have hardly heard from him all week!! It is me that's been doing the chasing. This morning I'd had enough of the silly buggers game and asked him outright if I'd done something to upset him, and he replied saying that no, I hadn't done a thing wrong and he knows he is being hard work and really doesn't mean it but the whole family thing is really upsetting him. This sparked off a little convo by text and he didn't bother to reply to the last message. I can appreciate this kind of time must be difficult, but am I being blown off here in a discreet way?

I've been single for about 9 months after pushing every bloke that came near me away (really bad breakup, cheating ex etc etc) but as soon as I let my guard down with one, this is what happens! Is it just me that thinks its weird that the whole texting everyday thing has practically stopped? Is it worth just cutting my losses and avoid getting hurt all over again?

Thanks!!

It could be a number of reasons, and I hate to say this, but he may just be slowly backing out, and disappearing.