Surviving the ups and downs in a LTR

Hi all,

I'm a first time poster on this forum. I'm in a LTR with my boyfriend of 2 years. We are both committed to the relationship, and we have spoken about marriage from the first few months. I am new to long-term relationships, but I find that we keep going through ups and downs.

I have researched a lot online, and I've found characteristic things that pertain to our relationship, that seem to be common in many others eg. Difficult adjustment with moving in, Conflicts w/household chores, Decrease in sex etc...

These are hard to deal with, but I'm handling them as much as I can. My question to all you fellow LTR-s, how do you deal with the ups and downs in your relationship? I find that I can be really upset with him one day and then love him so very much the next. There are days where I just want to be left alone, and other times when I just want to be near him.

Is this normal? I feel like it's not totally consistent. Do other couples go through these periods?

Thanks for any help.

Help?! If a bit more info helps, I'm in my mid 20s and he's a bit older. Sometimes, when I feel angry at him, I find that the real source is really my own problem, but then there are other times when it really is him eg. he doesn't try as hard as he used to, either in the relationship, or at home.

I'm really wondering how other people deal with the hard times in their LTRs. Do you take more distance from your partner? Do you try to be closer to him/her? And also, is it normal that we have these spells?

I think it's fairly normal, especially if you have some trouble with insecurity. When we have hard times, I get emotional, we talk through it, and things get better from there, or I simply distance myself a bit until I feel better and the insecurity has passed. It's a series of ups and downs, but if there are more ups than downs, you're doing just fine. Relationships can be a lot of work, but are obviously still very worth it.