We are crazy about each other, but are things like long distance getting in the way?

thatguythere

Hello all!

Well, here is my story, I know it's a bit long, but PLEASE help me out!

I am currently a freshman in college. I began dating this girl, "Jane," at the end of my sophomore year in high school, May of 2006. However, since then, we have both gone to college - she went to a university near our hometown, I went to one several hours away - and we both have gone through a ton of stress over school, mainly because we were new to college AND new to having a long-distance relationship; we simply could not cope with the stress of all of it at once. Near the end of our first semester, we decided that we needed to break up so that we could figure out how to deal with everything on our own before we thought about having a relationship.

It has been two months since we've broken up and I miss her more and more with every day. Coincidentally, her roommate went through the same thing with her now ex-boyfriend last year and now she despises him because of how they approached their situation; their situation was a bit more complex, but the basics were the same. I have told Jane that we cannot let the same thing happen to us, and I honestly don't think it should because we are both great people and we care about each other a ton, we have just had some issues to work out.