Question for teachers: help!

I am studying to be a high school teacher, and this year is the time where my teaching placements start. My first one commences in March, and then I'll be doing them all throughout the year. I'll be placed in various high schools accross the city and expected to teach at least 2 classes a day (with a supervisor) and observe at least 2 classes a day - AND I AM SO SCARED!

This is possibly the most frightening thing I have ever done in my life. I have never faced a class full of 25-odd teenagers on my own before, I have never planned a class, disciplined a student, or anything like this! I know I have to start somewhere but I'm just so afraid that I'm not going to be able to do it. Plus I'm not sure how deep they're going to throw me. Do they usually help you plan classes or at least tell you what subject matter to cover? I need advice because I have no idea where to start! But I really need to somehow tackle this very scary but necessary experience.

What subject are you going to teach?

Dont show your fear -- students can smell it a mile away. Just exude confidence, even though you may not feel it at first.

Also, read some books about pedagogical strategy, which should give you some idea as to creating lesson plans, managing a class, dealing with students, etc.

Good luck!

[EDITED TO ADD] Being observed CAN be nerve-wracking BUT try to forget that you are being observed. As a matter of fact, act as if this person is not even in the room, which should help you feel less nervous.

Would you be teaching literature or rhetoric/writing/grammar?

If you are teaching specific sections of an on-going class, will you be assigned what texts to teach?

In any event, those 4 weeks at the uni should prepare you well so dont be too nervous. I am sure you'll do fine!

Learn the kids names ASAP! Nothing worse than a teacher who says, "hey you... in the green...second from the back!"