Would you apply for a job that your uncle can help you get even if you were not qualified?

Learn English Via Listening | Begin...
Learn English Via Listening | Beginner Level | Lesson 10 | Joe's First Car

I informed my uncle about my layoff situation last week and he works for a healthcare company and told me there is a opening at his department paying $45,000 a year. After he emailed me the job description and qualifications, I knew that I would not be qualified because it deals with a lot of public speaking and that is not one of my strengths.

So Do I take a job my Uncle can get me and end up unemployed again when I'm unable to perform the job at a high level? I know i'm unemployed but I don't want to take a job that is nt a good fit for me and that I have no experience in. If you were in my situation would you still tell your uncle you are interested in the position knowing you are not qualified?

See the way I see it is that you are trained at whatever job you hold, now if you are required to know a set of skills or have an expertise in certain area then no you shouldn't do it but if you think you can be trained in a few months to perform the tasks then go for it.

I am pretty good at bs'ing my way through a lot of things and took my last job extremely under qualified which lasted 2 years. I learned the job in a few months and just recently got laid off

I'd take it. Then, like Debaser says, I'd study up on the position and try to get myself on the ball ASAP. Remember, you CAN learn to do most jobs. Just be confident and believe in yourself.

The last long-term job I had, I got it through someone I know. It was for a position that I had NO experience in and wasn't sure about. I took it and ran with it and stayed at that company for 7 years until I moved away.