I am very new to this but really feel like I need an unbiased opinion on my particular problem. It is a long story but I will try to be concise!

I have been with my boyfriend for three and a half years. In most ways he is a wonderful man - kind, considerate, respectful and loving but I feel like we have reached a crossroads in our relationship. I am 30 years old and have reached a point where I feel like I want to settle down and get married and possibly start a family in a few years. My boyfriend and I have talked at length about this. He claims that he is 100% sure that he wants to marry me. A year ago he put money down on an engagement ring but because of tough economic times (he has a corporate job that has been badly effected by the harsh economy) he could not afford to make the final payments on it. I have been understanding of this and insisted a ring was not all that important to me and that we should just go ahead and get married anyway. He expressed some concern about wanting to do things the "right way" with an official engagement etc...

We did seem to have reached a conclusion that we should just go ahead and get married even going so far as to make tentative plans to go apply for a marriage license yet my boyfriend now seems to have clammed up about it and has not mentioned the subject in several weeks (except vague statements about wanting to marry me). I am just beyond frustrated. This has happened before where we start to take steps forward before plans get stalled for no apparent reason.