I need opinions from men...and women too!

lostnva

I am 30 y/o. I had my daughter when I was 16. She is 14. She lives with me. She is an awsome kid, does very well in school and spends most of her free time at church. I am blessed.

Now, I own my home, I have a great job teaching dental radiology at VCU. I am also a nursing student at night. Now that my daughter is older I have decided to go to college for myself and to set a good example for her. I feel I am attractive and have a lot to offer a man. I am by know means ashamed of my daughter. I was engaged and with my fiance for 4 years (hes 42). He left and ripped my heart out 6 months ago. (See other post) Now that I am trying to date again I feel uncomfortable telling guys my age that I have a 14 year old daughter. What would you guys think about this situation? Would it be weird? Ladies feel free to give your opinion/experiences.

Thanks!

I do tell them as soon as I meet them. I make it a point. Its like I dread it though. I feel like I have to explain myself.

I forgot to mention that there are so many possitive points to this that I LOVE. Like I dont need to get babysitters. My daughter will be in college in 4 years and I will be free again. (not completely but you know what I mean) Shes cool to hangout with! She makes a great babysitter if the guy has younger children! Now another issue that I havent ran into yet, but may, is that I dont want anymore children. My daughter is almost grown and I spent my life raising her. I dont want to start over.

Thanks again!

Its like I dread it though. I feel like I have to explain myself.

You don't have to explain yourself or dread this. Let this be something you are proud of. You are proud of her and how great she is. So let this be a positive part of your life when you bring it up to dates. It is only a negative if you make it out to be.

just be honest. that's all you can do and things will work out for the best.