He's Sniffing Around...What Does He Really Want?

SportBox

Hello,

After 8 months of NC, suddenly, my ex is calling me, inviting me for coffee, e-mailing me pictures of his ski trip, calling me at 11 pm just to chat....WTH???

Short version of events, we broke up 8 months ago after nearly 3 years. The best way to explain our ending is that the relationship just flatlined - it didn't seem that we were going anywhere and neither one of us had the energy to resusitate the relationship. Speaking only for myself, I was so unhappy with myself in terms of many things, most particularly that I had lost my self in the relationship. I stopped working out as much, I stopped writing (articles for publications), I hated my job...the list goes on.

In 8 months, I'm back to where I was before I met Kevin. I workout 6x a week, I take Improv classes, I'm a boot camp instructor and I'm writing a book. I'm happy though I miss the intimacy of a relationship, but yet I am content.

2 weeks ago, an e-mail arrived in my Inbox from Kevin, asking if I would meet him for coffee to "catch up." I agreed, why? Because I wanted to see him and find out how he was. I was curious. And I did not think that it would lead anywhere. The thought of us getting back together wasn't a factor. We met for an hour, had a good chat (not a word about the breakup was mentioned), had a few laughs and agreed to keep in touch. In my mind, I had re-started NC the minute he was out of eyesight.

4 days later, he calls and we talk for 30 minutes. Next day, he e-mails. Though I did admit that I was not seeing or dating anyone, I don't believe anything I've said to him would give the impression that I was interested in him again.

Today, he e-mailed me photos of his NYE ski trip (I didn't respond) AND THEN calls me to ask me to lunch to "catch up." Didn't we do that over coffee already?? He said that he "really enjoys talking to [me] again."

So I ask you eNotAlone-ers, what does Kevin want?