Another lonely case: reflection and next step

dr_styles

Posted overhauled/shortened, more to the point

Been a long time lurker/reader but just the ticking clock has pushed me into the little vent we're kinda used to here on being lonely and stuff, but I've also been prodded a little into action, but not sure how coming from a long way back (introvert, limited true friends, very shy, etc.)

Usual bit of background

I'm 24, and you guessed it, single, virgin (not by choice), never had a girlfriend, and never even gone on a date, or anything even resembling learning more about a girl. I graduated from Uni last year (2007 was my final year) so I'm in normal working life now. Just some physical info too, I'm 6ft, chinese ethnicity, but born and raised in Australia. No one has ever called/hinted/pointed me attractive, but no one has done the same for unattractive either (well my hair is a bit on the dorky side).

Personality

The typical very shy, very nice guy? Uni is what perplexes and hurts me a bit. I am kinda reclusive in that I prefer to go home after Uni ("Work" now). With Uni it was out of boredom more than shyness. But whilst at Uni (or out in general nowadays), I don't deliberately hide in the corner or avoid looking at people/things. Anyway, classes, walking around, spare study breaks, lunching or whatever, never even got a smile or a look of interest. A couple of times guys sat next to me some classes though (no, definitely not gay, lol) and we usually became good classmates. On that note, I'm the sort of person who has "friends" but never or rarely does anything with them cos it's usually just getting drunk . So yes it perplexed me in a depressing way how even just from luck/probability being so exposed at Uni for 5 years and classes, I never even got into a random conversation with a girl, single or otherwise.

Current thoughts