Hi. I really need some advice on this. Here is my story in brief:

I dated my ex for a year and a half. We met in school and spent most days and nights together. The last semester together was difficult, and after I graduated about six months ago (she is a year behind me in school), we broke up. I took it very, very hard, and did all the wrong things (sobbing, begging etc...). We have everything in common and were once very much in love, but she lost feeling for me.

After we broke up she went on a study abroad program in South America. She had a great time, while I was struggling (and still am) to find a job, even with a degree from a top university. We remained in touch while she was away and while I tried to play it cool like everything was going great, I couldn't always maintain the facade that I wasn't thinking about her every f'ing day, sobbing in the morning etc... (tried dating, but nobody else compares - we were soulmates). She came back earlier this week and the short version of the story is that she is clearly not interested in getting back together while I still am, and I think she feels bad for me, which makes it even worse. She says she considers me her best friend and wants to keep it that way, but we all know what this means. I said to her that I knew she didn't want to get back together, but to please let me know if her feelings changed.

In the days since we last saw each other I've become convinced that NC is the only way to go. I want to spend time with her to try and convince her that I'm still a fun guy, but I don't think it's going to work after all the * * * * I put her through and because she knows full well how I feel already. I've been going through the worst depression imaginable since we broke up, and seeing her makes me want to weep because of how beautiful she is and how perfect we used to be together (I know there were a bunch of problems too, but we used to love each other in that way I just can't describe).