My parents are like stressing me out!!!

Shyguy24

Hey guys

I am 29 year old guy. My parents had major issues when i was growing up.

I was really young like 8yrs or so. Anyway i lived with all the pain and focused on my future.

I am a lawyer now and working for a successful big shot lawyer.

My parents are together now for almost the last 13yrs or so. We all live like a family and have gotten over whatever we went through.

The problem is that my parents are proud of me to the point it makes me sick. They are always looking at me as the perfect son.

If its not my career , then its my weight ..which by the way i am about 10 kilos overweight not really a problem.

I am very independent person with a very strong mindset ..i hate all the nagging all the time about my weight and stuff. They wantme to get married now ..so want me to shed the weight and stuff.

Cant i just be alone !!!! Dont i get respect for being a Adult.

wish i could ..in ..indian culture its not that easy, you have a responsibility towards your parents ..i just wish there was someway i could tell them that i am doing alright and dont need the update on my life like everyday....ugh

i dont want to hurt there feelings but i cant take this either...

hey Mindy thanks for the response.

Yeah in the whole Indian thing i have to live with them , all my life. Actually i am the only son , in the Indian thing the moving out does not exist.

I belong to a affluent family in my society so the pressure on me is even more.

I became a lawyer to have a different identity from my father , otherwise in India if your father is a businessman you automatically have to join the business.

Nah i dont want to drag my relatives into this. They will just make it worse by saying "son they are your parents , you should listen to them , and ill be like What??? i am listning to them ..and they would be like no no , you must understand ...eeekss..see where i am headed!!