evepm

I started talking to a guy that I met online. I have been talking to him for 2 weeks. He wants to meet me and initially, I wanted to meet him too. He has it in is head to come see me this evening to meet face to face but, I am really not ready to do that. He is a very nice person, at least from our conversations on the phone and I have no desire to hurt anyone’s feelings. I'm not very experienced with the whole online dating thing. So, how do I tell this guy that I’m not ready?

I agree with MissKitty.

You are best off meeting as soon as you possibly can and to determine whether there is a 'spark' there or not. Why invest time and waste time chatting online, only to eventually meet and discover there is absolutely no 'chemistry' and be sorely disappointed at the end of it all?

Saying all that, if you are not quite ready to meet him yet, then let him know that you are not ready. At same time, assure the guy that you aren't wasting his time, that you are interested and would like to eventually meet, but that you just don't feel ready yet. If the guy likes you, he will understand and stick around until you are ready...

But don't leave meeting up forever. I think that the longer you chat online/phone...it lessens the chances of ever meeting and of course there is always that chance, that the longer you put off meeting him, he will meet someone else online.....someone else who is willing to meet him and immediatley.

Thak you for all the good advise. He has it in is mind to come and meet because I failed to have a backbone and tell him that I wasn't ready. That was my initail question. How can I gently tell him that I'm interested in meeting but comfortable just yet?

Thak you for all the good advise. He has it in is mind to come and meet because I failed to have a backbone and tell him that I wasn't ready. That was my initail question. How can I gently tell him that I'm interested in meeting but comfortable just yet?