Running pains

stranded247
Quick warm up for runners with calf...
Quick warm up for runners with calf tightness!

I took up running about three weeks ago and I've been running for an hour each time 4-5 times a week. When I first started I got this feeling of tension in my lower calves, it wasn't painful but it felt like they were burning and the faster I ran the more they tensed until I would limp. So I bought a decent pair of running shoes and wore some thick socks and it stopped happening but for the past three times I've been running this week I've had the same problem. I know it cant be that I'm using muscles I've never used before because I use this muscle all the time, also I'm a competitive fencer so I dont think it could be to do with being out of shape or something. Its not too bad but it makes running a lot less enjoyable and slows me down, I still have a lot of stamina left but when my calves tense like that I just cant bring myself to run as much as I usually would. I also get this feeling but not as badly when I walk really fast or if I continually lunge in fencing. Its almost like a reflex, I cant help but automatically tense my calves so that the muscle protrudes and then it begins to cause discomfort. Anyone had this problem before? or have any idea whats causing it?

I don't know if you have been running before, but if this is the 'start' of your running career so to say, you started WAY too intense and way to fast. That is a recipe for injuries! Your muscles and tendons are not used to this. I recommend you go to link removed or link removed to fill in your information, and set up a distance. Running greater distances and training for that in a proper way requires some patience, otherwise it is very counterproductive (i.e. injuries will make you be forced to stop training all together if you're not careful).