Did you have a lot of emotions picking up your things?

Well, this week I go back to our home and get the rest of my things - furniture and all. I have been going to counseling and support groups since my husband left, and then subsequently filed for divorce.

I do feel stronger having had support, and feel like that I am doing a lot of inner work. I feel that I won't put up with the treatment I endured again during the marriage. I know it takes two to tango, because sure he liked me under his thumb but I know I sort of "jumped" to please him too though it never was enough.

Anyway, when you had to go back and get your things, was it emotional for you? I just have a feeling that I feel calm now, but once I get back there, I am not sure how I will feel.

How did it go/how did it feel when you went through it? I just don't know if I should prepare to have a total melt down or backslide or if I will just be numb? I know everyone is different but I have never done anything like this before. And it is a lot of stuff that was both of ours, not just merely my clothes

I have never been through a breakup like this before. I did date one other person before I met my husband but we never lived together, etc...there was really nothing of mine that I had to get back from him, etc.

Within my experience, you'd have to be very detached not to get emotional in this sort of situation - if not at the time, then shortly afterwards. All the memories, hopes, dreams, associations ... it's all powerful stuff.

If you prepare for total meltdown, make sure lots of support's in place just in case, then you're much more likely to stay cool and dignified during the whole process. If it's at all possible, make sure you're doing something nice that day and stay as stress-free as possible.

Hope this helps!

My ex came by yesterday to pick up more stuff. I made as easy as possible and moved most of it to the front room. I sat at the kitchen table as the ex and her sister walked by.