'Mixed' break up need advice please!

VA1970
Lost the Love Of Your Love? Watch T...
Lost the Love Of Your Love? Watch This!

Hey all... I've been reading here for a while and gotten a lot of comfort in tough times so thanks to you all! This is my first time posting though. This is a little long because I want to give you a complete picture but will try to give only the important bits.

I called this a 'mixed' break up because I think there are 2 kinds of break ups:

1) You got lazy, unattractive or they found someone they were more attracted to or you just turned them off by being needy, clingy, whiney..etc

2) They were madly into you but you took them for granted, (verbally)abused them, abandoned them...to the point they got out to save themselves more hurt, though they were still in love with you.

My ex is my wife of 1 year, divorce is 2 months old. The waiting period passed while we were reconcilling (so I thought) so when she 'broke up' with me and wanted the divorce it went through 2 weeks later. CRUSHED me out of the blue. To make matters worse I was 2,000 miles away and she dropped the bomb on the phone.

Throughout the marriage we both made mistakes (1st for both of us, mid 30's) but I was an insensitive a**hole who took her for granted back. Her horrible communication skills didn't help but I take most of the fault for the failed marriage and caused her many tears

So when she filed for divorce she was a wreck and almost suicidal for a couple of weeks. I didn't want the divorce, couldn't get exactly why and didn't show much emotion.

Finally 3 weeks later I had to contact her for a financial issue and just hearing her sad voice was enough. The next day I broke down and apologized for 2 hours for everything I had ever done to make her feel unloved, uncherished and worst of all....abandoning her when I got scared. (I left the state)