Not ready for a relationship, but I don't want to hurt her?

sharksale

Here's the deal, I'm 20 and until about two months ago, I've never had a girlfriend. That's not at all to say I haven't been with women before my, now, girlfriend - but never mutually exclusive seeing one woman.

She is 23, beautiful, very smart, has a great job, and with her I've had some of the most amazing experiences of my life, way beyond physical intimacy.

Anyways, I'm a fairly worldly person, I met her when I was in Texas and now I'm living on the other side of the world for the next month or so. When I return to the states, I'll be going to college over a thousand miles away and won't see her very often.

Here's the problem: On the one hand, I've never felt this way about a girl, and deep down inside I'm afraid I never will again. She's everything I've ever wanted in a girl, I've basically been praying to God for a girl like this my entire life, and she has finally been delivered to me.

On the other hand, I'm a very insecure person, even though I don't outwardly show it. Between the distance and the time apart, I don't think I can handle this relationship emotionally. It literally hurts every second of every day being away from her. That mixed with the terrible thoughts going through my head about losing her is making this relationship absolute torture. Anyways, she has spent over $1000 to come visit me over Christmas and New Years. I don't know what I want to say to her when she gets here. At this very moment, I feel like when I see her at the airport I would actually cry. And I never cry, ever.

Jeez... what's wrong with me?

Here's the problem: On the one hand, I've never felt this way about a girl, and deep down inside I'm afraid I never will again. She's everything I've ever wanted in a girl, I've basically been praying to God for a girl like this my entire life, and she has finally been delivered to me.