What is appropriate to bring to an engagement party?

lady00

My friend is having one. We're not super-close, but we have been spending a lot of time together in a group setting (we were introduced through mutual friends). Anyway, I am not sure what is appropriate. Bottle of wine? Champagne? Or am I expected to bring a proper gift? Please advise. This is my first time attending one of these things. Oh, and it's at a restaurant during the afternoon, if that bit of info is useful. Thank you!

Sorry if this is in the wrong forum. I didn't know where to put it.

No, it's not a wedding shower. I don't think they are being obnoxious or anything and I don't think they expect any gifts. But I just want to know what is a nice thing to do. I guess I should have phrased it differently LOL. I actually found stuff about it online and apparently this is a dying tradition or something. Most of the websites say that a gift is not expected but I am just curious what ENA people think before I make a decision.

link removed

Above is an article about engagement party etiquette from the point of view of a bride.

Presents are optional, and are supposed to be off of the registry if people do bring anything, so I think you're off the hook.

To debaser and steve: engagement parties are pretty typical. Steve, I doubt she is trolling for presents.

I wouldn't bring anything, because this would mean she will invite you to the wedding, and I would just save my gift for the wedding.

Oh. are they southern folk? A lot of them have traditions that the north has never heard of. Such as, the bride and grooms have separate cakes on their wedding day.

I think your best bet is to talk to others going to the party and see what is appropriate.

I wouldn't spend more than 30 bucks as they will most likely have a wedding shower and people usually buy things for that.