What should I do about my job?

PsychGirly
How to Quit Your Job in Less Than S...
How to Quit Your Job in Less Than Six Months Using Real Estate Investing

So I've been working at the same place for the past 4 years. It's a real estate office. I have 1 boss, & 6 other coworkers (real estate agents).

Today, my boss called me in his office, & told me that "we're not doing so well" & "business is horrible", & that he needs to cut down my hours. I work 7 hours a day, 5 days a week. He wants to cut it down to 3 hours a day, which would come out to approximately $600/month.

He gave me a few options:

1) He can keep me full-time til the end of this month, & then cut my hours down starting December 1 (where I'll be working 3 hours a day).

2) He can cut my hours down as of November 15, but pay me cash so I can register for Unemployment (ILLEGAL).

I'm not ok with any of these options. I don't feel that it's fair for me to work 3hours a day. If that's the case, I mind as well find a new job. I want to work part-time, but 3 hours isn't even considered part-time here.

I feel really betrayed. I'm not sure what to do. I'm thinking of just telling him to write a letter stating that I was laid-off, & I'll just register for Unemployment for the next few months, until I can find a new job.

I'm so confused! What do you guys suggest?

First off im sorry to hear about that babe.. the economy sucks right now.. I would keep the part-time job and at the same time look for a new job.. once u find a new job leave ur old one..

Look on the bright side at least u will have more time to talk to me

LOL but the thing is, if I stay here for 3 hours a day, I won't get Unemployment checks.

If I work here part-time, it'll come out to barely $600/month. However, if I leave here, I'll get Unemployment of about $800/month until I find a new job.

That's my dilemma.