Just wanted to share my story...Thoughts?

justletgo07

Hey everyone. Although this is my first post, I have been reading your stories and threads for over a month now, so I almost have a hard time considering myself a "newbie" here.

Anywho, I thought I would share my story. I'm sure many parts will sounds familiar to many of you. So, here goes: (I apologize for the length)

I'm 23 and my ex-gf is 21, and we were together for about 2 1/2 years. I know we're both young, and I've always been pretty realistic about the tendency of young love to be both intense and often short-lived. I guess this was just the first one that felt "different". Our relationship has been a bit of a roller coaster ride, with lots of high highs and low lows, and we had our fare share of rough patches, but we never lost that love and respect for each other.

The past year has been particularly difficult. I graduated from college last May, while she still has 2 years left. I ended up staying in town (not because of her...didn't want to move back home with the parents), and noticed fairly quickly that the transition from college to the real world is quite a shock to the system. I struggled with depression, frustration with often having very little money, and no time or energy to do much of anything fun. I was very involved in college, always going, moving, and doing, so once I was out, there were a lot of empty spaces in my life. This caused me to lean a lot more on my gf, and in many cases, use her to fill those empty spaces. I also became pretty needy. In retrospect, I'm pretty sure that killed much of her attraction for me, since I didn't have much of a life of my own to share with her. In addition, she was studying for the MCAT for much of this year, so it was not a good time for me to be leaning, nor was it a good time for her to ask me to be strong. On top of that, I think me graduating really made it harder for she and I to relate since we were in such different parts of our lives.