Hi everyone , I am new to this, only joined a few days ago but love it I was wondering if anyone has any advice for me... I recently moved to be with my ld boyfriend, all is going great apart from the fact his family keep trying to interfere,as it would be hard for me to get home for christmas I suggested we spend christmas in our own place(We spent the last 3 apart)he seemed all for it ,however now his parents are asking him about coming over for christmas,they seem to expect us over,he wants to do right by everyone, which i can understand but i told him that they need to realise his not a child anymore at 29 and needs to start doing his own thing sometimes,he sees them every week as it is so surely he could spend christmas with me? am i being unreasonable??

Personally, I think the holidays should be spent with family whenever possible. But that's just my opinion. If I were near my family or could to where they were, I would want to spend the holidays with them.

Is it not possible for you to spend part of the day alone, and part of the day with his family?

Yeah I agree with Scorpion, if you're not going to spend holidays with family, then you're sort of destroying the point of it.... most of the time people rarely see their families, so holidays are the way to go unless you live right next to your in-laws or parents lol.

This is a relationship, make a compromise... find some way that he can still see his family, and you and him can still have your alone time during the holiday and both of you will be happy.

we live at opposite sides of town , we would be expected to go over christmas eve(after i finish work) and stay til the 26th,I am back to work on the 27th so only have the two days off.