Should I give up trying to make friends with this girl?

Mantis
5 Signs of A Strong Friendship – ...
5 Signs of A Strong Friendship – Spotting A True Friend

I'll be honest. I approached a girl maybe a month or so ago with the possible intent of dating her. I wasn't full on attracted to her yet, but I felt like the potential might be there. So I approached her, talked to her about school and such. I've talked to her a handful of times since then, and found out she has a boyfriend. Well, that's fine. I'd still like to try to be friends with her. The thing is though, she's never actually started a conversation with me. It's been me every time. She says hi when we pass each other, but that's about it.

I don't know, maybe I'm reading too much into this. I'm not very good at making friends, and I've never really had a female friend. Just casual acquaintances. Does it mean anything at all? Is she trying to get me to leave her alone? Should I continue what I'm doing? I'm really clueless here.

It's likely she picked up on your interested vibe, and is keeping you at a distance on purpose. But you can change that, by behaving in a new way. I recommend you keep being friendly with her, but change your tack. Say things which are clearly demonstrate that you're not trying to make yourself attractive to her or chat her up. And maybe talk to her about stuff that's not too personal.

Here's a list of things which would be suitable for your new tack. Of course, if this doesn't work, maybe she just doesn't find you interesting as a friend either. But it's worth a shot. And it might take some time for her to come round. If she's still boring and unfriendly, back off, but occasionally slip in the occasional comment that will let her see you're not trying to be cool.

Here's some suggestions.

- be a dork, or highlight some other clearly un sexy aspect of yourself.