I'm worried about my gf's ex.

hockeymaniac

Er hi, i'm not very good at opening up but here goes.

I've been going out with my girlfriend for eight monthes now. I love her more than anything, and i mean that. Now my gf is not on good terms with her ex. I don't really know what has passed between them but as far as i'm concerned thats between them and not me. he used to be one of my best mates, which makes this all the sadder, really. I only ever cut once, but i sure paid the price for it. I cut my fingers, which are obviously visible the whole time, so it didn't take long for people to see my scars. The ex(who was still going out with her at the time) was the first to see.was never the same after that. After about three or four weeks of fear and being asked to show my hands, things almost got back to normal. My present girlfriend broke up with my 'mate', and we started meeting up and talking. After about a month of this we became a couple. At a recent social, while i was in the bathroom, my girlfriend told me that the ex and a mate of his came up to her and started slagging me off. This culminated with them saying 'why don't you and (my name) go and slit somewhere??'. i was shocked i hadn't even done anything to the mate, and B: because the ex was almost being nice to me. i guess i was very naive to believe that it was all over.

My girlfriend, bless her, has put my cutting in the past, and still looks at me the same. I'm just unsure wot to do about the ex. What should i do?? how should i act?? any advice is very welcome. I'm sorry that this is so long but i've held it inside for too long.

As a former self-harmer, and still with the scars to show for it, I've found that some people have weird reactions. I had a long term relationship and one of the things I really valued about him was that he knew straight away what my scars were, and never, ever tried to use it in any way against me. Sounds like your girlfriend, actually.