Is it time to give up?

Smoky

First off, I'm new to this, so please forgive me for any mistakes.

I have been single for just under two years, and moved from the UK to Bermuda following my last break-up (extreme, but totally worth it). I arrived in Bermuda nearly a year ago and was instantly attracted to a work colleague. We get on really well and I like him a lot. He shows interest every day, but has never asked me out. When I drunkenly expressed my feelings about 8 months ago he turned very cold and we hardly spoke for a couple of months. His friend said it's because we work together and he won't date colleagues. He gets possesive and jealous if other guys show an interest or I go out without him, not agrressively, but makes comments, this weekend it was "so are you going to get all dolled up for tonight then" in a pretty snide way, as if I was doing something wrong by going out without him. (We do normally go out together, with other friends).