Just turned 28 and don't know what to do with my life!!!

Skyfae

So yes...I just turned 28 and I have no idea what I want to do with my life anymore.

Everything I thought I wanted has not happened.

I feel I am getting too old to not have it figured out.

I was once engaged to a man I was with for almost 8 years. At one time I was thrilled at the prospect of marrying, but now I find it terrifies me. While many other women my age are freaking out about not being married and having children, I'm running the opposite direction.

I have a BA degree in English and after numerous attempts to break into publishing, I'm stuck being a nanny.

I get very depressed at times and wonder what's wrong with me. I'm not really happy with the direction my life is going and what's more upsetting is I'm not even sure where I want it to go anymore.

I have other options, such as teaching english overseas. I just feel like life is passing me by, and I don't know why it's so hard for me to make a decision.

You sound a little like me, not that long ago I was a bit pre-occupied with knowing where my life was going. I had a degree and followed that into a related professional occupation. I later referred to this lifestyle as 'on the path'... I had my life all planned out like a one-way path and I could only think of one way to go, to develop my chosen career, earn more money and become a settled adult with a mortgage and a family.

But I got off the path, I didn't like how structured it all was, also I thought, what was the point of stressing out over having a professional career and earning money if I didn't need the money to support a family. So I quit my job and have decided to let my life go in whichever direction best suits me rather than try and force it down one direction.