Should I stick with pre-med?

havefaith

My question is this: does graduating pre-med + english appeal significantly more than a straight up english major would to law school or other graduate programs?

At the moment I'm a junior at a top 20 U.S. university and my majors are pre-professional studies (aka pre-med) & English. Pre-professional studies includes all the med school reqs (Chems, Bios, Physics, + science electives).

I'm a transfer student and am behind with my credits. It's going to be a tight squeeze graduating on time as it is. I no longer think med school is an option for me, just because I'm behind with my science core after transferring so I'd be taking MCAT late & stuff, but I'm not really heartbroken over that because I'm starting to realize there are a lot of options out there.

I'm primarily thinking PA, PT, or Law school because of the English degree. If I did go to Law school, I would eventually want to get into medical law, which I was thinking my science background would help with.

Here's the thing -- I'm really struggling with balancing my English & science classes. Second semester Organic chemistry is going really horribly at the moment... kids have been dropping left and right and I'm trying to decide if I should be one of them. On one hand I don't have that many science credits left to do and I'm tempted to just put my nose to the grindstone and finish it out since next semester would be infinitely easier, but on the other hand I can't stop thinking about how much easier my life would be without Orgo for the rest of the semester.

I'm afraid to quit because I feel like I'm closing the door on options. At the same time, this is starting to hurt my GPA. I have a 3.2 right now but without these science classes I could be getting straight As or close to it. I can't decide if I'm just needlessly obsessing over having "Pre-professional studies" on my degree.