My g/f broke up...Really need advice!

Giggle

Hi there,

Ive been reading a lot of these forums the last few days, and now am hopefull for any advice you can give me in my situation - it will be sorely appriciated.

My girlfriend of nearly three years broke up with me last wednesday. We've been through a lot togethor, we got togethor in the final year of school, and had amazing times. The last two years we've been at university, at different ends of the country, this has been tough at times, on her more than me- but until recently we've got though it really well. The last year (our second year at uni) was when things started to go wrong.

I started playing this computer game lots, I mean every day, id skip lectures more and more and generally just stay inside doing hardly anything productive. Sometimes when we'd see each other i'd play for little bits, and leave her doing something else. I was really addicted.

This led on to a lack of attention from me to her, even in holidays we'd see each other less and less, I might make an excuse just to stay home and play games. I really sunk into my shell, and while she goes out (she is a very social person) id stay inside saying i have no money or dont feel like it.

I ended up failing my second year beacuse of this.

To cut a long story a little shorter, she told me that this was an issue, that she felt like i didnt do anything any more, and implied that I should change (although never really saying it in so many words). When we went back to university for her final year (i would be repeating my second) I fell back into just playing games again.

until she tells me that we should go on a break. Then it hits me, ive been such an ass - I deleted all the time consuming computer games and really started trying to make more of an effort, with her and university.