In Need of a Parent's Opinion, I've Been Hiding a Boyfriend for 10 Months

ashley001

I'm 17 and I've been hiding a boyfriend for 10 months.

My parents and I never really had an open conversation about relationships, dating, sex, etc. I never had "the talk" with them and they've always avoided the subject on dating. My parents are separated, but living in the same house, my mom is anti-marriage and doesn't believe in love and my dad is okay with dating, but he just wants to be OVERLY involved in my dating life (meaning he'd want to actually come on the date with me). This doesn't exactly make me feel comfortable with talking to them about this.

I'm a senior in high school and I NEVER expected to get a boyfriend, but it turns out that one of my best guy friends turned into something more. This was January, everyday I told myself, "I'm gonna tell them today!"...and it never happened. I went behind their back tell them I was going to a girlfriends' house but I'd hang out with him and I purposefully avoid places I know my parents may go. I hide our pictures together, etc.

I've never been one to hide things from my parents. Now that my relationship with my boyfriend is getting a little more serious...since we've been becoming intimate and all...I kinda wish my parents were there to talk to or something. Part of me wants to tell them, but another part of me just wants to hold off for the rest of the school year and then just move away to college...i don't know.

just want parent's opinions if i was your daughter.

Has your dad specifically said he'd want to chaperone you? Do you actually go on "dates" with your boyfriend or just hang out places, like at his house or something?

Are they just completely opposed to you having a boyfriend all together or just opposed to you having sex as a teenager?

Has your dad specifically said he'd want to chaperone you? Do you actually go on "dates" with your boyfriend or just hang out places, like at his house or something?