How do I get rid of a desperate/annoying "friend"?

RogueTomato

Hi everyone!

I'm a year-long lurker in dire need of some advice pertaining to an acquaintance of mine. Every real live human being I have asked has not been able to provide a solution to my problem, so this forum post is a last-resort of sorts.

The dilemma:

I'm a college student who has mistakenly befriended one of the most annoying people in the universe. There is an overwhelming plethora of traits and habits that make this person intolerable to be around. The problem is, I can not get rid of them. You see, we are in the same class together - a class that meets for 3 hours twice a week, and is followed directly by a 2 and a half hour lunch/break period. This person follows me to break after every class meeting and hangs out with my friend (who is equally, if not more, frustrated by this person than I) and I for the entire 2 and a half hours. Also, we share a class on Friday, and the person will follow me all the way to my car after class, and try to guilt trip me into hanging out.

I really don't know what to do. I don't want to hurt this person's feelings, and I don't want to make enemies. If I didn't have class with them then it would be easy to make up some excuse, but there's no way to get away since they follow me EVERYWHERE!

To make matters worse, it is highly likely I will have to see this person in another class next semester since we have the same major. I don't want to deal with enemies in my already stressful classes.

My friend and I have dropped a lot of hints about being annoyed with the person's constant ranting, clinginess, and desperation, but they don't seem to get it. I don't know how much more I can take of this person and I'm afraid I will go off on them. I really don't want to hurt anyone, but this person is making me depressed!

So, how do get some peace without ending up in jail?