At a cross road...career wise

Sean

Ok, so I am a graduate student at a school, studying to get my masters in Occupational Therapy. It's a great field, that pays well ($50,000 is starting salary), good health coverage, and you can get this job anywhere in the world. However, I don't know if it's the job for me. It requires you to be an extroverted person, to always have a smile on your face and congratulate your patient on the smallest of successes. I'm sorry, but I am not that person. 1. I am very introverted 2. I don't always have a smile on my face and I don't do the whole fake smile thing, and 3. I can't do the whole fake "oh so proud of you" thing either. If you can't tell by now, I am a cynic.

However, what other options do I have? My choices are either finish OT school, go to a job that I'll hate....but I can do, or drop out, and struggle to find a job because well, our economy sucks right now. I have a Bachelor of Arts degree, which as I have found out, is worth alittle bit less than toilet paper. No one is impressed that you have a B.A. as your undergrad degree.

I know I keep hearing about all the wonderful things you can do with a B.A. but honestly, I'm not seeing any of it. I've tried to get hire with a B.A. but no luck, I'm either overqualified or underqualified.

Things I am passionate about and that I think I can turn into a career is aviation and writing. I've thought about seeing if I could be a journalist, but I think someone with a degree in journalism would get hired over me.

Thoughts?

I wouldn't write off Occupational Therapy so quick. Personally if I needed OT, I would rather have a more low-key Occupational Therapist than someone I thought was being fake. You can be supportive and a good therapist without overdoing it. And if the majority of your work is one on one with a patient that seems to fit the bill of an introverted person if you develop personal relatinships with your patients.

Don't write off OT just yet.