How do you know if your ready?

It's been almost 10 months since my breakup with a guy I dated for about two years. We had a deep deep love for eachother, but unfortunately many insecurities, and lack of trust caused both of us to make desicions that ultimately tore us apart.

In the 10 months we have not been together, we have gone through stages where we hang out on a regular basis, to no talking, to dating other people, to seeing each other sporadically....which is where we are now. I see him maybe twice a week, and we consistently seem to have a good time together. I truly believe the reason we have been getting along so great, is because we stay out of each other's lives throughout the week. I dont have to stress out about what he's doing, or upset with him for not sleeping over, and he doesn't have to deal with the things he might find annoying or bothersome about me. Now, I know this is probably not healthy..but I am a full time student and have a full time job, which completely knocks out my social life..except for the rare times I do spend with him.

Every once in awhile, I get to thinking...maybe we can make this work. But I immediately realize that I don't think I will ever be able to forgive or erase the memories of his wrongdoings, nor will he with me.

I have been on dates since the breakup, and even had a long distance boyfriend whom I dont count as much...but regardless, I felt like I was cheating and it was hard to get past that. This most likely has to do with the fact that maybe I was afraid that if I told him I was moving on, that it would completely end anything that could happen in the future. Basically, I think I was holding onto hope, even though I chose to not admit it to myself.

I recently got asked out...a few days ago. This man seems very nice, and I find him attractive. I dont need to lie about this to my ex...however, I realize that if I am choosing to go on a date with someone, he might be less thrilled with hanging out with me.