Question for people with solid relationships

Rosee

For anyone who is with someone that they seem likely to have a long term contented future with:

in your experience when you first started to get to know the person, did you just click pretty much straight away and were things fairly easy at the start?

I mean did everything seem to flow naturally without too much angst? Or are most relationships quite hard work from the get go?

When you meet someone who is the one (or one of the ones, whatever) does it feel different from what has gone before?

I've been in love a few times but never with a person who I would also consider a good friend.

I've clicked with people as friends, but I haven't been able find a mix of both yet and from what I understand it's very helpful to really like your partner as a friend as well as lover (well duh I hear you say, but I'm not really good at this stuff, lol)

With my bf, we were friends first...so that helped tremendously. Just so you know, it's not always going to be a Mayberry scenario with any relationship. There are rough times. But if I have learned anything...it's how you get through those rough times that helps build your bond as a couple. I have been with my guy for 3 years (known him for 5). We have an amazing chemistry, and have had one since the start. That immediate chemistry with new realtionships has a way of making everything easy. The challenge comes when reality sets in and you actually have relationship-stuff to deal with. The chemistry can still hang, but it takes work on both parts.

Trust, forgiveness, unselfishness and communication....they all help!! We are still learning these valuable things about one another. There are days where I feel like we aren't going to make it - and then he helps one of those things by a right action or words....and things get better. We still have a lot of work to do. Luckily we are young and willing to learn.

I hope this helps.