Being in a Relationship - Finding a balance between the sig. other & friends

CDizzle

I was wondering how you manage the time you spend with your significant other and the amount of time you spend with your friends. I am no novice to dating, however I am a definite novice when it comes to finding that balance.

I typically get extremely involved with my boyfriend and start to neglect my friends. I go from spending about 4-5 times a week with friends, down to maybe once a week, if even that. (It once got so bad that it was maybe about 2-3 times a month! Embarrassing, I know.)

Whenever I spend time with my friends I try to have my boyfriend come along so that he and I can be together but also so I can be with my friends; I also spend time with my boyfriend and his friends. However, I feel like there should be times when I should be alone with my boyfriend and times where it should just be me hanging out with my friends solo!

I really, really want to find a good balance (it was my resolution after I entered this new relationships -- I really don't want to get lost in my boyfriend ever again) but I'm just not sure how to do it.

Any advice (or examples) would be great!

I disagree that your relationship should take priority. Maybe sometimes it should, but other times it should not. I think it's very important for BOTH people to have their own hobbies, friends, time apart etc. Of course, you should be spending plenty of time together....but I do not think any couple should spend all their time together.

^^^i disagree with that LH.

you must have time away from your SO. and yes, alone or with friends.

Agree with this. In the past I have felt stifled and crowded by g/f's on being around me all the time - even when I hang out with friends. And being dragged along constantly with her friends! Painful!

People need time apart to grow and mature. How much? It's a judgement call, and highly individual.