Love, breakups, obsession and help

These are just some thoughts on love, obsession and broken hearts and to encourage people to please consider seeking professional medical/psychiatric/psychological help rather than suffer and suffer unnecessarily. I am not a medical professional but I have suffered long term in the past from relationship break ups.

I hope this may give hope to some people and I hope I don’t get shot at for offering advice. If you are hurting I am not trying to belittle your pain, I would just like you to consider getting help if you haven’t done so already.

There seem to be many people on this forum who are seem to be constantly suffering, months and months, even years after a common relationship breakup and after long periods of NC. I have a lot of trouble believing that it is a good or necessary thing or even a part of growth or healing to suffer like this.

The Conclusion

If, more than a month or two after the breakup,

you are still thinking of your ex or associated thoughts constantly and life is a struggle because of it, and/or

you are sick of thinking about your ex (or related stuff like relationships in general, why do people dump people etc etc),

you are in pain a lot of the time,

when you wake up, at night or in the morning you are thinking of your ex,

My feeling is that

This is not love. Love is wanting happiness for the other person. If that is without you – that is perfectly fine. You have your life.

It may not be a measure of how much you loved your ex, it may just be a measure of how much you obsessed your ex when you were together.

It is not just a broken heart

It is not normal

It is likely to be a psychological obsession/clinical depression. If it is, it is very likely to be treatable and you can feel a lot better quite soon.

If you are obsessional, without professional help it could last for many months or even years. You could feel like this for a long, long time.