Manager's agony

I am a new project manager, and have a team of new hires (fresh out of college) working for me on a project. There is this one person who is over enthusiastic, lets call them 'A', to an extent where they are stepping on everyone's shoes (including mine) , and assuming unsolicited leadership role.

We had a major client meeting, where I had assigned A to go over the meeting agenda. As planned, A started the meeting agenda, except continued and said, "lets all go over the room and tell them what

we are doing". The tone was as if A was responsible for the team. You should have been there to understand what I am saying. It's hard to convey the tone in writing!

Another instance was when someone was talking, and A put them in the spot in front of everyone asking them to expand a long abbreviation (which was very commonly used in our discussions with the client, and hence did not need an expansion at this point). I had to jump in and rescue this other person. Anyway, this was not the only faux-paus! During the course of the meeting, the vibe A was giving out was that A was in-charge! I let it slide, as it would be awkward to say anything in front of the client.

I was letting the client know of some potential issue, and A jumps in and says "Lets discuss this towards the end of the meeting. It's not as bad as it sounds." I was asking the client if they knew where they wanted me be 1 year from now (all PMs out there would know that this is not an unusual question). A jumps in and tells the client "That's too far out. It's okay if you don't know. It's OK", making me sound and look stupid! I was asking the client some question, and A started answering for the client, shocking me and the client! The polite client waited for A to finish, and then started answering the question.