good student bad daughter.

My parents were raised in an environment that was very strict and they were taught to put aside their feelings at all cost to do what was needed for the family- mainly because money was scarce. Opportunities were limited and freedom was pretty much nonexistent.

My parents weren't born here and they really cant speak the language very well, and i was born here and i cant speak their language very well. So this is a huge problem when it comes to explaining our feelings and different views on things. I try to talk to them about school and friends but its very awkward when they don't understand what I'm talking about, they hear but they dont listen. It's gotten so bad we barely even talk to each other - they don't try.. i don't try.

Problems between me and my parents are mainly centered around my habit of going out. They think that i don't love them and that i am involved in drugs and gangs and almost anything negative. I'm a pretty good student. All my life i have gotten pretty gooood grades. I turned 18 last december and i have just graduated from high school this June. I graduated in the top 10 percent of my graduating class and have an overall gpa of about 3.78 unweighted and 4.575 college weighted. I dont drink i dont do drugs and i dont party every weekend. I just like to go out and hang out with my friends.

This is a huge problem for them. They dont like the idea of me going out at all. if they had it their way i would sit in my room the rest of my life. I dont go out much if i had school and if i did go out when i had school the next day i would be sure not to come home to late because I know that school is important and its something that i hold as a priority.