Open Club  ·  31 members  ·  Free

Travel and Culture

Studying aboard. Any exchange students here?

pinkelephant

Hi,

I was wondering if anyone here has done the exchange program. I would love to hear about EVERYTHING: your experiences in the country, with the application process. the things you've learned. etc.

I just found out that my school does it AND my mom said that if it's academically beneficial (like if the credits will be valid here in canada) then she will let me do it. I AM SO HAPPY!!!

PLEASE and thank you!!

It is most of the time a wonderful experience. Couple of my class mate in high school went to Peru and they really liked it.

They got to learn Spanish and stuff about other cultures. They had really good time.

the only negative thing I could tell is that one girl came back pregnant.

I studied abroad in Ireland in college and it was definitely one of the best experiences of my life--It made me much more confident and also taught me a lot not just about Ireland, but about the U.S. too! Definitely do it if you can make it work!

I went to Australia, so I wouldn't call my experience "studying abroad" more like "drinking and partying abroad."

Ahh, good times!

lol, yeah, that was also true a lot of the time in Ireland! I definitely developed an appreciation for Guinness...

what about the credits you receive? my mom's main concern.

You should receive credit for the semester as long as your school recognizes the program and location you enroll as accredited. Just be sure to go through your school's aboard office and you should be fine.

Is it being organised by your school? If yes, you will get the credits. However its only about credits, you dont do much study there, its all about fun!

yes it is. it's through my university. so the grades won't matter? oooh sweet. mother does not need to know this bit.

yes it is. it's through my university. so the grades won't matter? oooh sweet. mother does not need to know this bit.