Want to move out & live on own, but sticky situation

Tears May Fall

So im 24 years old, live in NYC in queens (haved lived so all my life) and currently live with my mother. We live in a one bedroom apartment that we have had for over 20 years = great rent control.

Two years ago, my father passed away and my mom doesnt work, so things got really tough. I am the only child. I graduated from college last may and have been supporting the house (rent, bills, money for mom, etc) since sept 08 (when I passed all my board exams and got licensed). I pay pretty much everything, my own bills, my car payment, the rent, utilities, her credit card payments, her spending/vacation money, etc. Now i dont hold that against her in anyway as she paid all the bills (including some of my credit card bills) in the meantime after my father passed and until I was done with school (basically from money saved up). Now she claims all that money is wiped out.

Well until recently I didnt mind living at home with her because I felt as though I had no choice but to support her, keep her company, and also benefit off the low rent here. Thing is, we've been living in a one bedroom all my life, ive never had my own room (we share the bedroom) and i never went to away to college since I went to school here in NYC which means I had no time to live on my own away at school. So now its been recently driving me a bit nuts to not have any privacy, not have my own room, etc. So one solution could be a two bedroom instead, but the other thing thats frustrating is still kinda having to deal with my mother trying to always control my life and asking where im going, who im going with, when ill be back, etc and/or making demands like drive me to the supermarket, drop me to so and so's house, etc (she doesn't drive at all either).