My, What a Big Age Gap We Have (Cont'd)

ameeker

I am continuing this thread since I noticed it was closed. I support The35YearAgeGap because mine is, well, a 41-year age gap (OM/yw). One member asked The35YearAgeGap the following questions and I would like to answer them for myself.

How long have you been with him? Since April (yeah, I know that's not long)

How long have you actually lived in close proximity to him? January-April, but it's currently long-distance. We are both at a point in our lives where we want to move to another state next year, so if things continue the way they are I think it would be wonderful to live together.

Do you have a desire to go to college? I completed my master's last year.

Have a family? No.

Is it just his age that your parents don't approve of? My mom knows and is fine with it, but doesn't want me to be heartbroken when he dies. My aunt wishes I would find someone closer in age. My dad doesn't know. However, I had come out of such a bad relationship with a man my parents disapproved of even more (he was black and abusive) that I don't think they'll be quite as averse to my current boyfriend. I think it's more a matter of does he treat me right. And, yes, he does. 100 times better than the man I was with before.

Has he been married before, and does he have children? He divorced 21 years ago and has two daughters. However, his daughters are 10 years older than me so that would be awkward if we married.

How did you meet him? Through work

Wow...he is 65 and you are 24. If that's what you want, go for it. What do you want discussed here? Or are you just looking for a heated debate?

I guess I do have one question...do you want kids? If so, I hope he is healthy enough to stick around long enough to raise them. Does he take care of himself and excersize? If not, are you ready to be the one who might be his caretaker in the years to come? I think you should do whatever makes you happy. You seem like you know what you want.