I'm falling for my friend

troubled

I need an opinion no matter good or bad. I have recently moved a good distance away from home to a city for work after finishing university. Me and my girlfriend of three years broke up not long after I got here. It was a combination of the distance and feelings just changing. I ended it and it was the hardest thing I ever did in my life. It makes me physically ill to think of what she must be going through after our break up. I didn't know if I could do it because I knew it would hurt her so badly. She is a wonderful girl and our relationship was good but the feelings were fading for reasons I can't explain. I knew it was best for both of us. It was hard on the two of us but I know I am feeling more relief from the break up, and her more pain, and that kills me. But I wrote about that a while back and I have a new issue. A new lady.

I come from a small town where everyone knows everyone. I graduated high school with less the 50 people. I now everyone well and while this girl was never my best or closest friend I feel I know her pretty well having grown up with her since 5 years old. Anyhow after high school and into university it became the thing where all my friends (her included) would party when we were around each other but that got less and less. I would keep in touch somewhat over emails and such, and I would see her from time to time, but I never thought of her as anything but a friend from home. She had moved to another city very close to where I now live. She was excited that I was coming to live close, not for any particular reason other than it is nice to have someone from home around, and I was excited that I would have a friend somewhat close in a new city where I knew few people.