Just broke up feeling bad

Hi everyone,

This is my first time doing this so be kind.Here we go! I was in a relationship for over eight years. I recently broke up with him about a month ago. The reason I left is there was a consent stress of him threating our relationship he would tell me alot that if I continue a coversation he did'nt like we were through. After hearing this 50 times I finally snapped I slapped him and told him how much I hated him. I was living with him and he would leave me and not talk to me for weeks and say it's my fault when I wanted to talk to him. I was always the one who called and said I miss him and want to work things out but instead of trying he would take about an hour telling me all the things I do wrong and what he thinks I should do in order for things to get better I foolisly agreed but something inside me said I can't do these things because I really don't feel that it's all my fault he tells me all the time it's me and not him. He says he does'nt do anything wrong it's me . What do you guys think?

It sounds like you're in a relationship that's emotionally neglectful. He keeps telling you to stop conversating with him, and all you're doing is showing him that you love him by wanting to call/talk to him.

Even if he is the type who doesn't talk much, he shouldn't threaten you just b/c you want to conversate. If he's threatening you, then that's not healthy either.

He doesn't sound like he's supporting you emotionally at all. The relationship seems a bit unhealhty to me. You can't really patch things up from here, b/c that's who he is. So, it's good that you walked out. Try finding other reasons as to why it's good that you broke up with him.

Initially, of course you'll be shocked by the whole breakup, but in the end, you'll feel glad that you put that heavy baggage aside, and moved on to better things in life.