What is you Calling?

Without getting too technical, I guess the question is more "What is your vocation?"

I've been an attorney for 6 years now. At times, it's been good. At other times, it's been a real stressful existence. For those who don't know lawfirm life, you work pretty long hours. You are pretty much judged on two criteria, how many hours you have billed a client in a year, and how many clients have you brought in (and how much have those clients generated in revenue).

So month in, month out, year in, year out...you being quantified. When months are slow, you start to get nervous...almost desparate to get hours...when you have the hours and it's busy, you're almost never home. Selling yourself to get clients also takes time and sometimes you feel diminished...like your some kind of prostitute or something. Also, as a minority, it's hard to get the big fish clients as a large part of this country is still run by the old boys network. In short, its tough...and I'm growing too old and too tired for this.

But of course, I have family and responsibilities, and the legal life pays well.

The question is, what in the hell can I do to get out of this endless cycle of stress upon stress, worry upon worry, boredom upon boredom. I day dream a lot about what it would be like to have an interesting job. Can I be so lucky as to find a vocation that is also my calling?

I am always hopeful that things will come around, but I'm getting older, and it feels like that window is slowly, but surely, closing. Anyway, any advice would be helpful.

Thanks

Hello there,

I don't know if this is interests you, but have you cosidered teaching? You have the experience and it would be a great thing to bring that into the classroom. The hours might be better for you and allow you to have more family time.