Fatherless Daughter Needs Advice

Hi, I'm new to this and I'm hoping to get some input. I am a 21 year old single child and I have never known my father. I don't have a name, a picture, or a clue about who he is or how my mother became pregnant. I asked my mother about him once when I was 7 or 8 years old. I asked if he lived nearby, and to the best of my recollection, she said yes. I then asked if we could go see him sometime, and she said "maybe" or "we'll see." Nothing more has ever been said about him by either of us. When I was nine, she met the man who is now my step-father. For a long time he was not the greatest of father figures, although now we have a better relationship. I'm not a psychologist, but I wonder if the initial lack of a male influence and then a not so wonderful father figure could be a contributor to why I now have trust issues with men. At 21, I have never been in a committed relationship. I learned to do things on my own from the very beginning without a guy, and it's really hard to open up and let one into every aspect of my life now, althought that's what I want more than anything to do.

For many years now I have wanted to ask my mother more, but I haven't been able to work up the courage. I don't want to risk the relationship with her and my step-father, because they're the only family I've got left. I feel a need to know who my father is or was and to meet him if that's even possible. I want to know where the other half of me is from, and where these hazel eyes of mine come from when I'm surrounded by baby blues on my mother's side. I want to know if I have brothers, sisters, or other family out there. I want to be able to say the word "Dad" and be referring to my own.

So, what I'm not sure about is how to approach my mother. I don't know if she'll freak out and run out (which wouldn't surprise me) or not tell the whole truth. Maybe she will tell me everything. I guess I should just be prepared for anything.