question about a kid

This is my first time on this site, and to tell you the truth, i don't know what to expect. I don't know if what i'm going to post really belongs here, but after looking around the site, i figured this to be the best place.

Ok, this is kinda a long story. I'm 18 and in college. For one of my classes I was required 30 hours of community service. Since I was thinking about becoming a teacher, I did my time at an elementry school. A 3rd grade class. I loved it. It was one of the best things I have ever done. And the kids loved me too. They were so funny, quizzing me about why i have an ear ring and long hair (fyi, I'm a guy). All the kids were like that... except one. There was one kid who just treated me like I was her best friend. She was always just telling me about her day, what was going on in her life. It was shortly after that i found out her parents were divorced. I've never really worked much with divorced kids before but i knew that she lacked a father in her everyday life and i figured that i should just set the best example for her as possible. So the year went by... way too fast. I did way more than 30 hours. I had finished the assignment before christmas break, but just kept going back because i loved being with the kids. So it was the last day of class. I was there for the end of the year party. And so i was just talking to the girl like usual. She was just telling me about what she was going to do after school and what not. She was talking about going to the pool... then she added that if I were ever to go to her house that i could go with her. I had to inform her that that just wasn't going to happen. Then she asked me if i wanted her phone number. What else could I say? I had to refuse... She was of course upset...