I am pretty happy with myself in most ways, and I do a lot of things to make everything else good because I have one problem that I believe ruins everything. I am very pale, and it is completely unattractive. I have tried the self tanning, and I love the look of being tan, but that is too much work to maintain (not to mention it costs). So I do research on it and all the sites say tanning is bad for you, especially when you are 16, and that you should avoid it. Now I care about my skin, but also its just a bit hard to get over the paleness. I would most likely risk it, but I am not sure if I should bother. Is it possible to not be able to tan at all? If thats the case how am I supposed to know if I am wasting my time? I hate to feel bad about myself over one thing, and people tell me I shouldn't care, but I do and that just never seems to change.

Dear enchanter,

I have been tanning in a tanning salon for about 2 years now, but not regularly because I tan TOO easily. I have heard that some people with very light skin and of certain descent cannot tan at all. If you have red hair, your skin also tends to be quite tan resistant and also if you only burn and NEVER tan aftera burn, you should not spend ANY time in a tanning bed. You can try a tanning bed. I know that it is not good for your skin...I have been told that many, many times, however, in my quest for a tan tummy, I've done it on and off. Anyways...the only way to tell if you are truly wasting your time is to try it...although I am sure that I will receive much criticism for telling you to try it if you want to. I would suggest just trying about 5 minutes to begin with. Otherwise you will burn, especially with light, light skin. You could tan once a week for a while and use "tan-too" (a sort of sticker that comes in many shapes and designs--when you tan it leaves a design where you stuck it because it blocks the rays) to see if you have made any progress. After you've gone for a couple weeks at 5 minutes, you