Goat

I’m a freshman in college and I am five hours from my hometown. I had the same girlfriend since my junior year in Highschool. She still lives in my home town. While I was at college I met someone else. I broke up with my long time girlfriend about a month ago now and now I don’t know which one to choose. I’m not yet in a relationship with the new girl I met but we have both expressed interest in each other and have made plans on starting a relationship when I get back from winter break. And my now ex girlfriend sill has immense feelings for me and would get back together if she got the chance, and honestly I feel the same way. Now that I am back home for winter break I’m right down the road from my ex and five hours away from the other one. A big part of this is the distance. I have history with my ex and there are things I like about her more than the other one. But on the other hand the new girl has traits I like more but I do not know what a relationship with her would be like. My ex has fewer qualities that I can share than the new one but we have been through so much together. All in all my question is: should I go back to the familiar and break the new one’s heart, or see what happens with the new girl and break the old girl’s heart?

You cannot handle long distance so the reason for breaking up is still there. If you were to get back with your ex you would end up breaking up again due to the distance once you get back to college. So do her a favor and don't get back with her. It's that simple.

All in all my question is: should I go back to the familiar and break the new one’s heart, or see what happens with the new girl and break the old girl’s heart?

LOL, you phrase this like you'd be doing either girl a favor by being with them. Saving their poor little hearts. Oh brother.

What's really happening is: you dislike being inconvenienced for even a month by long distance, and are actually 100% out for yourself and your own comfort.