LinkedIn share
Google plus share
Twitter plus share
Give Advice
Ask For Advice
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: I'm so selfish I don't know what to do anymore

I'm so selfish I don't know what to do anymore

My girlfriend left me one year ago, now my best friend left me recently, my family is demanding me time with them because I barely dedicate it to them. I have 4 pets, one a little kitty and they are very demanding.
    A little more of context: I'm a university student and this semester I'm taking too many courses, so I have my time really strict, although I can withdraw some of them to decrease the academic load.

So I'm very conflicted right now because
    1. My beat friend left me because I'm not a good friend, I'm selfish and it is VERY hard for me to think about other people, and I hate it.
    I thought I'd be changing, nonetheless, I was thinking about not spending some hours with my family in order for me to finish my week's assignments and be able to do some sport.
    Indeed I'm being selfish and instead of dedicating 4 hours to them a week, I'd rather go and do my stuff.

2. I know I can do this semester with great grades but as I said, I'd have to dedicate myself to it, and my family and pets demand time.

I honestly feel overwhelmed. This issue of being selfish and not-at-all empathic has being over my shoulders for some years now and I can't seem to take it off.
    I REALLY want to be better, to build myself a good, loving future, full of people I love and I can make happy, but it is so hard and I try and try my hardest and I fall again in the same mistakes.

Platinum Member
    Why does your friend feel you are selfish?

Does any of this go beyond not spending time, or is it other things with these people?

I am curious as to why you would take on so many animals if you have so little time?

Platinum Member