I really feel lost about this, would love to get some opinions

puzzleman

I'm a freshman in high school. I've had a crush on a girl for the past 2 years, but could never really talk to her as I freeze in fear during the rare chance I get to.

I don't share any classes with her, expect a study hall (just free study for a block)

I can't seem to get close to her, and I feel like it will be too awkward to simply say start a conversation as I have talked to her less than 3 times during the past 2 years, even when she was in most of my classes.

I really want to get close with her, as I find her so wonderful. I'm pretty shy with people except my friends, so I don't have enough confidence to go and talk to her. To make it worse, she's always surrounded by her own friend group, which makes it even harder to approach her.

I don't want to be seen as some weird kid to her, and I can't simply just say talk to her as it will seem weird. What should I do?

As someone who never could start random conversations, especially with a female I was interested in, I get the fear that it causes. I froze so many time when I was your age. And all I got from it was lost opportunities that I will never know how things could have turned out. What I realize now is that it never mattered how they, or anyone else saw me. What matters is how I view myself. So what if I'm seen as weird. In fact, I'm pretty sure people have thought that about me. Yes, it may not go the way I want and I might hurt for a bit, but at least I can say I tried. And if you try, eventually things will go well. So the first step is be okay with who you are and not think about what others will think.