Newbie Here, PLEASE READ, HelpMeHelp.. desperately need your input

So this is my first time posting on here. Im a shy quiet person and I'm going out on a limb, it's making me nervous to hit send. Advice on each and every aspect of the situation , please do read it. I'll try to edit it for length. Please leave me something

But I need some help with a relationship issue , and I live with my girlfriend, but this particular post defies the norm between us...were best friends , inseparable , and 100% honest...because it's touchy in a lot more ways than one.

My girlfriend (of 19 months 2 days) always deal with things together, she is my rock and I'm years older than her. We love helping people, and we have been fortunate to be in positions to do that (I managed a motel, and a lot of the guests were in domestic abuse or disaster circumstances, we did so much for so many, I look back with pride) but we've also seen it from the street, sleeping behind dumpters, freezing, hungry...so there's empathy and appreciation is expressed daily for having our little room in a rooming house that is all we need.

I'm sorry this is long winded, just need to try to say how amazing she is..and her mom and stepdad love me like a son. That's a first for me but if may be over too soon. Her mom is sick, with the worst news a doctor can give IMO, stage four kidney... mGF is doing okay with it, and hope is the order of the day, every day, and I go out of my way to do that every chance I get.

The problem? Treatment isn't free, and it's not a good time to rely on help right now. They iceberg is almost melted from under them , they haven't lost their dwelling but who knows how long. So taking action on my mind, I make a crowdfunding page after seeing such success stories and think my girlfriend will say great idea!