"Stay With Me" by Sam Smith...what is he feeling?

Ladyphase

Hi,

I googled for songs called Stay With Me. Now I remember hearing this before. I'm confused about these lyrics. Is the character starting an emotionally unhealthy relationship? Or is he just confused? Or what? I feel like I don't have quite enough information.

Lyrics:

Guess it's true

I'm not good at a one night stand

But I still need love 'cause I'm just a man

These nights never seem to go to plan

I don't want you to leave

Will you hold my hand

Oh, won't you stay with me?

'Cause you're all I need

This ain't love, it's clear to see

But darling, stay with me

Why am I so emotional?

No, it's not a good look, gain some self control

Deep down I know this never works

But you could lay with me

So it doesn't hurt

'Cause you're all I need

Oooh oh ooh oooh ooooh oh

Oooh oh ooh oooh ooooh oh

'Cause you're all I need

Oh, wont you stay with me

'Cause you're all I need

This ain't love its clear to see

But darling

Stay with me

You know, I actually used to be obsessed with Sam Smith about five years ago. I even thought I was " in love" with him and thought what a pity it was that he's/they're gay. Because otherwise I would have totally had a chance with him 😂 I used to play his music on repeat all the time. I was lucky I was able to get a ticket to his live concert that someone was re-selling. Otherwise the show was completely sold out.

Anyway, so I'm pretty sure this song is about a one night stand?

Basically I think he's saying he had a one night stand, but he's really lonely and wants company. So he's singing: " This ain't love, it's clear to see, but won't you stay with me". I think he's saying "just act like we're into each other and it wasn't just meaningless sex".