Guy from Tinder lied about being a student at the University I'm at. Advice?

minute_perception

Matched with a guy on tinder and we've exchanged numbers. He told me he's looking for something more long term. We're thinking of going on a coffee/icecream date. He apparently goes to the same University I'm at. The other night he was talking about what he's studying and I just innocently said he should show me by sending a photo as it seemed interesting. He didn't send me a photo, bit weird I thought. I then via our Uni email checked he does not come up which probably means he's lied.

* possibly IT Issue? he mentioned he's second year, I'm a fourth year student so it's practically impossible that his name is not coming up but mine is.

* the name he provided matches his Instagram and Facebook, can't see him using a fake name. I tried searching his last name alone and nothing comes up.

Would you go through with a date? What do you suggest I do? Text him and be upfront?

tl;dr matched with a guy on tinder, I'm attracted/interested in him. Realised he's most likely lied about going to the University I'm at.

There are people who are known by different names. I used to date a girl who had her dad's surname on all official documents (work docs, passport etc) but mum's surname on anything social like Facebook. Other people are known to everyone by their middle name.

My family is particularly strange with names - my nana's birthname was Olive but everyone called her Eunice. And my uncle's birthname was Bernard but everyone called him Mick!

Guess what I'm saying is just keep an open mind - it might not be as straightforward as 'he lied'.

Other people are known to everyone by their middle name.

This is true for me, too. From birth, I've always been called by my middle name.